Kadian1364 on Macross: Do You Remember Love?

Original Post: Harsh! Consuming Media Not Related to Our Interests

kadian1364

October 10, 2009 at 2:14 pm

[…]

For years I had heard the stories that older generation anime fans told concerning the franchise, regaling tales of Robotech, Carl “The Butcher” Macek, and of course, DYRL. My first proper introduction to the Macross-verse was ‘08 anime Macross Frontier (aside from an ill-conceived foray into Macross Zero and some random episodes of the original Macross Cartoon Network once showed). Yet I never put much thought into finding the movie (It’s so old! I told myself), and it was only through sheer chance and dumb luck did I stumble across the torrent when I was browsing my usual BT sites (thanks Live-eviL!). I decided, what the heck, let’s give it a shot.

So I watched it. When it finished, I stopped, breathed slowly, took some moments in silent contemplation to collect my thoughts, got myself a tall glass of water, and then watched it again. And again the next night.

I used to think, That’s such a strange name, “Do You Remember Love”. A pop idol singing a song to end a war? Only in anime. Yet after a span of 2 hours, it was all made clear to me. I finally understood the meaning of its title. “Do You Remember Love” is a love letter to the dreamers, a gift to those who love epic stories, gorgeous and detailed animation, and beautiful, moving music. The guys at Anime World Order podcast once said that DYRL embodied everything they loved about anime, and even though we were separated in watching the movie by decades, and our experiences wildly different and years apart, somehow, I felt the same.

REPLY

Tags:

One Trackback to “Kadian1364 on Macross: Do You Remember Love?”

